Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is agreement among several people that plastic bags must be prohibited in every shopping activity since they lead to pollution issues on land and sea. Aside from its real influence on the liveability of the earth, I support this view by the reason that the development of science has brought numerous sustainable inventions which humans can use. A growing number of people start concerning environmental conditions and this has been leading them to the debatable issue related to the utilization of plastic bags while shopping. It is undeniable that plastic pockets are still the most preferred tools to carry anything due to their flexibility and low price. However, it is now well-known that the irresponsible disposal of plastic waste can be harmful to environmental sustainability due to plastics being non-biodegradable materials. To exemplify, in the capital city of Indonesia, Jakarta, as there is abundance of plastic waste polluting land and sea, many health and environmental problems, consequently, confronting the inhabitants. If this problem is left unchecked, up to some point in the future, this planet might unable to be inhabited any longer. In response to this issue, moreover, scientists have been developing plenty of biodegradable products to substitute plastic sacs. They are frequently made from organic compounds, which furthermore, for this reason, has been making them safer and healthier for humans. For instance, an imitation of plastic made from plants' cellulose is now widely produced and being utilized by people that are already aware of plastics' threat to the environment. Despite dozens of obstacles that such development has been facing, it is evident that society begin to pay more attention to its importance. Hence, support and collaboration to succeed in this thrive have to be taken more seriously, and by doing so, it is not impossible to protect this planet earlier, for the next generations to come. The summary that can be drawn from prior elaboration is that I drop my preference to the ban of shopping using plastic bags due to its harm to environmental livability and today's existence of biodegradable products as a substitutive action that can be taken by humans.