Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this?

The discrimination among nations in terms of people's lifestyle, access to information, eating habits and cultural aspects are diminishing with the effect of globalisation and widespread acceptance of technology. Some people see it as a threat to cultural identity, but I take it as a positive sign in terms of improved lifestyle and a better relationship among nations. Without a doubt, the merits of this exceed the disadvantages. To begin with, globalisation and free trade concepts, that led to the similarities among nations, were not imposed by a rich nation on the rest of the world. Rather, it was a demand of the time that has reduced the gap among countries over time. For example, someone from a developing nation, these days, can avail the same branded clothes, food, technological devices and so on a citizen in an industrialised country can have. This not only enhances the freedom of choice for people but also opens the windows of opportunity to local brands on the international stage. If countries look more similar around the globe, it means just one thing - the wealth and life standard gaps among people are declining. Moreover, the trend reduces the cultural gap among nations and help maintain world peace. Also, a growing number of people nowadays go to rich nations for study and work, and similar culture makes them adapt to a foreign country more easily. Freedom of the press and easy access to global information has accelerated this trend and there is no stopping to it. Finally, the culture and tradition of a nation change over time even without the interference of any alien influence. Hence restricting the overwhelming facilities this trend brings is not a good idea at all, especially when the world still has a huge wealth gap and animosity among nations. To conclude, the wealth and power gaps among nations may lead to conflicts, and this is why people should be treated as global citizens rather than citizens of a specific country. To make this dream come true, international brands, TV channels and other global facilities should be present in every corner of the world.