Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a belief,that exploring the past is unnecessary, whereas other people state,that fundamental knowledge in history creates a better viewpoint of the present. Personally, I support the second statement, as not knowing the past one cannot fully comprehend the political situation now and consciously participate in elections. Historical knowledge might appear irrelevant for a number of people nowadays, as due to technological development and globalization, language and IT skills are more practical and needed in the job market. Additionally, it might be difficult to realise, why students need to spend time reading about historical battles or dates and how they will apply this information in everyday life. For instance, instead of spending time on essential programming,course they might need to read about Egyptian Empire. Therefore not for everybody learning history is relevant. On the other hand, because history is cyclical, events that occurred many years ago might repeat nowadays. Thus, the one who knows the past can predict the future. Moreover,basic historical awareness is a foundation for the conscious political beliefs of a citizen, since one knows the contest of agreements and laws made by the government. Consequently, it gives an opportunity to influence current events. In addition, it is vital for an adult to be able to vote for the right president or party and be responsible for this decision. To sum up all of the above, although someone might consider historical knowledge inessential as they do not use them in everyday life, I fervently believe, that it is crucial in the development of political consciousness, a better understanding of present situations and the ability to predict,or sometimes even avoid future issues.