International travel is becoming cheaper than before, so more and more countries open their doors to tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

there is a current debate surrounding whether international tourism has a negative or positive effect on countries due to the availability of travelling. personally, I think the advantages of this trend are eclipsed by its disadvantages. on the one hand, those who advocate the development of mass tourism may point to a better interracial understanding and a huge profit. regarding the former, it is true that many people believe in false preconceptions about the tradition and cultures of other countries. therefore, travelling to these nations helps them to correct their existing prejudices and strengthen their bond with people from all over the world. furthermore, cross-border tourism is a major industry that assists the economy of many countries thanks to a large number of foreign tourists and foreign investments. for example, in 2019, the significant development of the economy in Vietnam was mainly caused by the trend of international tourism. on the other hand, there is still a myriad of drawbacks of international tourism that need to be taken into consideration. firstly, it is worth mentioning that business invests in cross-border tourism in order to profit from the tourists, so they are likely to exploit local cultures and customs for their own benefit. entrepreneurs even freeze the traditions of the past to create a fantasy with a view to attracting more tourists. for instance, Sapa was regarded as the beauty of nature, but this landscape has been damaged seriously to fulfil tourists ' desire for exoticism in recent years. moreover, travellers can unintentionally offend the local values without in-depth knowledge of the local cultures. as a result. tensions can be created among nations due to mass tourism. in conclusion, despite certain benefits of international travel, I strongly believe that its merits are overshadowed by its demerits. therefore, governments need to take these problems into account to control mass tourism in an appropriate way.