In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping center or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Due to globalization and modernization, the purchasing habits of people are changing. Nowadays, the majority prefer to buy things from malls or supermarkets rather than from local stores. In this essay, I will elucidate that this is a negative development. Individuals are attracted towards large shopping centres because of their glitz and glamour. Moreover, along with the comfort of the latest infrastructure, these places also provide convenience to consumers. They provide a one-stop solution for all consumer needs. Additionally, the masses not only get different varieties of goods but their products are also available at attractive discounted prices. For instance, lately, the popularity of major retail chains like Walmart has increased significantly as people prefer to shop from their places because of cost benefits. Additionally, the masses not only get different varieties of goods but their products are also available at attractive discounted prices. For instance, lately, the popularity of major retail chains like Walmart has increased significantly as people prefer to shop from their places because of cost benefits. Although there are numerous benefits of large shopping centres, they are detrimental to the local economy. Small retailers cannot compete against them. As a result, many local shops go out of business. This leads to an increase in unemployment rates. Apart from that, supermarkets usually promote foreign or imported products. Thus the local manufacturers also lose their businesses. To exemplify, research was conducted by economists to assess the impact of Walmart on the local economy of various regions in the United States. As per the finding, Walmart causes a loss of approximately $14 million in wages to the local community. To conclude, even though hypermarkets are beneficial for consumers, their negative impact on the nation’s economy is much higher.