In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Specialized health care for the elderly is the most common promise by any government. In a few countries like Great Britain, separate living areas for the aged have been set up to provide them with any-time health support. In my opinion, both the state and the public should take part in bearing these costs. I will discuss both views in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the Government holds the responsibility to provide state-of-the-art healthcare facilities in any country. These facilities such as Hospitals, Diagnostic and Healthcare centres play a vital role in identifying disease and curing it. Adding to this, authorities are also responsible to support the weaker sections and eradicate poverty from society. This support would be most required in cases such as well-being. Thus, it is meaningful for the governments to pay for society's health. On the other hand, staying fit and healthy is an individual responsibility. This is because they will have to suffer if they don't remain sturdy and the agony would be unimaginable. For example, one should look after his fitness by spending some time exercising, walking etc. In addition, the regulatory authorities can only offer generalized facilities that would not suit every patient's condition. For example, an elderly person who is suffering from diabetes would require a different treatment while others having heart-related problems would require a different treatment setup. This is practically not possible for the state to spend on customized specialities. So it is rational to bear one's cost themselves. To sum up, both the Governments and the public should take equal responsibility for bearing the health-related costs. This can be done in many ways by slashing down the costs to a level that is not difficult for the elderly to pay besides not burdening the treasury completely. In addition, awareness and encouragement on maintaining physical fitness among all ages will help in creating a healthy society.