It is believed that the education system is the most critical factor to the development of a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this belief?

Education is often referred to as the backbone of a society. It is often argued, that the educational, system is the most important ingredient of national development and while, I am in full agreement with the statement, eventually, in my essay will discuss the reasons for the same with relevant examples. First and foremost, it is schools and other institutes of learning that concurrently, create a band of learned manpower, who can lead the country in different fields. Societal advancement, subsequently, is a direct function of a knowledge pool, that exists. For, example, the IITs set up by the government of India in the fifties and sixties have helped the country to create a battery of engineers, who have excelled in their domains of thought like space and technology. Therefore, we can see a direct relationship between a learned community and the developmental goals of a nation. Moreover, there is an inverse relation between poverty and getting educated. Whereas, learning skills and getting educated opens a spectrum of opportunities which help to reduce unemployment in the society. To illustrate, an increase in learning among the population has helped Bangladesh to reduce hunger. Educated people are in a better position to understand what is good for them and it is of consequential benefit to them. To exemplify, financial frauds arising out of illiteracy have come down in India in the last decade owing to an increase in literacy percentages. Social evils arising out of illiteracy as cheating forced labour, and unscrupulous annexation of land by the rich have come down owing to increasing awareness owing wisdom. To cite an example, ethical crimes of land grabbing by deceit have come down in Bihar, India, owing to improvements in culture amidst the masses. Knowledge enables people to become more aware of their rights and responsibilities. It can be cited that higher education is responsible for people's awareness in Kerala than in Jharkhand, India. Thus, we can realise that its benefit is multi-dimensional covering unemployment, awareness, reducing social evils and reduction in starvation. To summarise, the development of a knowledge system is the most integral to the progress of a nation as concurrently, it leaves an indelible impression on social development, creating a pool of literate resources, reducing poverty, improving citizen rights and creating a better society.