Adults do less exercise these days. Some people think that showing sports events on the television such as the Olympics and international tournaments is the best way to encourage adults to do exercise. Others believe there are more effective ways to do so. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With an ever-increasing concern about the efficient ways of encouraging adults to exercise, a proportion of the population has opined that letting people watch sports events on television will be the most effective. The rest of the population, however, has raised a counterargument that education and building a sport-friendly circumstance for the public would be more effective. This essay will evaluate both arguments and give a concluding viewpoint. On the one hand, advocates of broadcasting sports events on media to encourage the public to exercise argue that people are likely to be interested in sports easily by watching famous and world-best athletes play in sports events. Given that most plays and games in the Olympics and international tournaments are very exciting and the players are sufficiently attractive to the public, people tend to start to do that sports by themselves following sports stars and hoping that they also could be in good shape like those famous athletes. On the other hand, opponents of this idea contend that starting exercise due to instant interest in certain famous sports players might not be able to prolong constantly since people are likely to lose their interest easily in doing exercise. Instead, it seems that education would be more effective to make adults exercise. Considering that the effectiveness of education generally tends to last long, providing adults with information regarding the importance of exercise for health sufficiently would be a more effective way. In addition, making sports facilities in the neighbourhood for the public as many as possible would be helpful to encourage individuals to exercise more at their convenience to use. In conclusion, it seems that watching sports competitions on TV can result in urging adults to exercise. Nevertheless, I believe that other measures should be implemented for long-term effectiveness.