The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages and disadvantages of convenience food?

It is considered that growth in use of convenience foods was beneficial for people to become more modern. This essay will explain the advantages and disadvantages and provide a logical conclusion. On the one hand, many believe that fast foods are useful since they help people to save time and they provide job opportunities. Firstly, a large number of working men and women tend to eat lunch outside of their own home since they have a very short period for lunch break. For example, over half the staff of a particular company in New York, visit the local pizzeria in the high noon to eat. Secondly, the fact that a lot of restaurants and cafes become overcrowded during peak hours, obligates society and businessmen to create more and more of these places and hire more people. On the other hand, eating too much convenient foods, brings with it health problems and environmental issues. In other words, people are relying on fast foods too much these days. This kind of eating habit contains entering shocking amounts of salt and oil into our bodies. In the long-term perspective, it ends up in multiple diseases and life-adjusted disability years. Also, the country is obligated to provide the needed ingredients and supplements for this massive food industry. This means tearing down forests and turning them into cultivating lands and livestock farms which is one of the prior causes of global warming and deforestation in many parts of the world. I believe these disadvantages eliminate the advantages. To conclude, even though many argue that convenient food production is functional for becoming modern because it’s time-saving and makes up a lot job openings, I think the drawbacks of it, like environmental destruction and health-compromising side effects, are way more important. Thus, outweigh the pros of it.