Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that products containing a lot of sugar have detrimental effects on the human body and cause diseases. Some people believe that the high price of these products prevents people from buying them. I completely disagree with this opinion and think other regulations should be implemented. First of all, I believe that society should understand the real threat of consuming manufactured food and drinks. In other words, the public should realize how these products affect their body badly; otherwise, nothing prevents them from eating and drinking these harmful products, even at high prices. For example, even poor people spend a lot of money on unhealthy products because they don' t become aware of these products drawbacks. Governments should run some campaigns to inform the public of the negative effects of sugary products and refer people who suffer from obesity and high blood pressure because of the consumption of these products. Secondly, this approach doesn' t consider the wealthy people who have a significant role in consuming junk food because rich people spend a considerable amount of money on advertising processed food and drinks, and sometimes they are sponsors of famous brands of drinks and cuisine; therefore a great number of populations tend to consume unhealthy products. For instance, when a normal person sees an advertisement about drinking soda by his favourite role model, he definitely buys that soda apart from the price. To conclude, I strongly believe that the higher price of sugary products can' t prevent the public from using them because they don' t know the disadvantages of these products, and affluent people can buy and advertise them.