The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages and disadvantages of convenience food?

It is a common belief that the consumption of processed food plays an important role in modern society. Although eating this kind of food gives some benefits related to shortened time to get food and making people's lives simpler, processed meals are generally unhealthy and also can lead to some chronic diseases. There are several benefits why convenience food is essential for many people nowadays. One of the reasons is that society does not have time to cook. Several types of jobs require overtime for working. As a result, the majority of full- time workers do have not enough time to prepare their food because they have to get up early and meet many deadlines over time in their office. Furthermore, a lot of hours working would make them exhausted and it is difficult to manage their eating schedule. If they bought meals such as fast food near their workplace or popular chain markets, they would not need to spend a lot of time going to groceries and cooking complicated recipes. On the other hand, the habit of consuming ready food could lead to some detrimental, particularly health issues. First of all, some research proves that fast meals contain some chemical compounds which end up harming people's health. Take the consumption of instant noodles as an example, it is believed that this food has fewer nutritional ingredients and contains high carbohydrates. If an individual continually consumes low-healthy meals every day, it can weaken people's immune systems, which can be prone to several serious diseases such as cancer and obesity. In conclusion, although processed meals can promote some advantages in terms of preparing meals as well as saving energy to do other things, it is argued that consuming convenience meals can damage their health.