Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The film industry has transformed in a lot of ways in the last decades. People are going to theatres more often than they were before. Some people are of the opinion that the only intent of movies should be entertainment, while others argue that films should have some educational goal. Both the points will be thoroughly discussed and my opinion will be mentioned. Firstly, it is evident that motion pictures are made for the scope of entertainment. It contains various genres, music, dance, fighting and so on; which clearly defines its purpose. Many people love watching the cinema and it can help them to take a break from the monotonous life that they are living. IMAX, 3D cinemas, Dolby atmos, and such services are introduced which makes it clear that it is defined to take advantage of such services and entertain crowd. Secondly, if movies will not be intended for entertainment purposes, then people may find them boring and it can badly affect the creators financially. For example, the biography of Sachin tendulkar has been made which is so boring that it can not then cover even the costs of the making. On the other side, it will be wrong to deny the fact that films should have some educational value. For instance, a single film should also be entertaining and contains a message in a way that people not only enjoy watching the movie but also learn from that. Moreover, today's youth are greatly inspired by films and if films will be having some educational value then upto some extent crimes can also be prevented. One more advantage of adding educational value is it will reach to a large number of audiences and hence will serve the pockets of the producers. To sum up, I personally believe that although films are supposed to be made for entertainment purposes, it will be beneficial for everyone if creators add some important lessons and messages to them. It may serve to prevent crimes and also benefit the people related to movies financially.