Smart devices have put all of the world’s information at our fingertips. What are the drawbacks of this development?

The development of technology has brought the whole world together thus, creating easy access to global information. This phenomenon is abundant with several drawbacks. Unreliability of data and privacy issues have caused a major impact resulting negative impact on an individual's life. Firstly, there is no guarantee about the reliability of the information available on the internet. For instance, the websites like "Wikipedia" can be edited by any person. This gives rise to misleading information such as false bomb threats and false allegations which would cause havoc among people. So, society is at threat of being manipulated by someone behind a keyboard spreading false news via the internet. Secondly, consent to privacy is not respected among internet users. For example, many celebrities are concerned about having a secret life away from the world wide net. Some intimate conversations and photos of a popular celebrity named Zenda were recently released to the internet and it created a global conversation. After undergoing massive bullying and harassment from internet users, she later committed suicide. As a result of the breach of her privacy, the world lost a talented young artist. So, limitless access with no respect to personal boundaries on the internet has created a concerning privacy issue. In conclusion, the tech-savvy generation is on the rise every day and the world is at the tip of our fingers. It is no doubt that the unreliability of news sources and lack of privacy are concerning issues and deeply affect one's quality of life.