Some say that news has no connection with most people’s life and it is a waste of time for most of us to read newspapers and watch television news programs. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been an unprecedented demand for news irrespective of whether it is broadcast on television or printed on paper. Some people think that reading or watching the news is a waste of time while others feel that it is a necessary part of their lives. I will explain both perspectives,and why being aware of the news is important. On the one hand, people think that other tasks have a higher priority than reading or watching the news. For instance, employees feel they have to only focus on a task assigned by their managers. Out of fear, they presume that if their work is not done they will fail to receive a good increment. Since they work incessantly, they are not able to spend time on other activities such as watching or reading the news. Teenagers, likewise, are busy with sports, functions, events and exams. They are under pressure, and so they feel news is a waste of their time. On the other hand, I believe it is essential to follow up with day-to-day or current affairs for several reasons. Primarily, being in touch with reality is crucial for social interaction. To illustrate, if an individual is outdated, it will be difficult to understand what her colleagues are talking about. They might end up feeling out of place. Clearly, considering this point of view, being in touch with the news is not a waste of time. Secondarily, reading and watching the news helps to enhance both language and communication. Moreover, these skills will aid a person to get a better job. They will, as a result, earn more money which proves the power of news. To sum up, skipping news only due to time constraints can be justified. However, I strongly claim that if we make time to read and watch the news, only then will we be able to harness the power it offers us.