Some people think that we are becoming independent of each other while other people say that we are becoming more dependent on each other. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Humans are social animals and throughout their lives they require the support of other beings in one form or the other. Certain groups of people argue that in the contemporary era, inter-dependency has increased, whereas, others believe that it has gone down. This essay intends to analyze both perspectives. I personally believe that our dependence has risen. The main argument given by those who say that people are becoming more independent is based on an increased number of individuals choosing to live alone. In recent times, it has been observed that the youth prefer to move out of their parent’s home and start living their life on their own terms, hence giving them a sense of autonomy. Additionally, with the advent of technology, people now have the option to even get emotional support and a feeling of companionship, which is evident from the rising popularity of AI chatbots and AI girlfriends in East Asian countries like China and Japan. In direct contrast to this though, it is said that dependency has grown on people outside one’s family. In today’s life of hustle and bustle, nuclear families with both parents earning a livelihood have become common. Consequently, they require external help to manage the time-consuming household chores like cleaning and washing. A recent survey reported that in major tech hubs of India there is a shortage of good, reliable housemaids. Moreover, even hiring nannies or use of day-care services to help look after the children has become essential for these working couples. To conclude, I reiterate my opinion that people are becoming more dependent on others, only the basis of those relationships has changed.