The number of older people is increasing. Some people think this is causing problems in their countries while others feel that older people play an important role in society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

With an increasing ageing population in many countries, people’s views on whether this matter is causing problems in or having a positive impact on their countries have been largely divided. This essay will discuss both views, followed by my personal opinion.

On one hand, having a larger population of older people in a country can have multiple negative effects. The first one is an increased amount of pressure on healthcare systems. As individuals grow older, regular medical treatments become crucial, which means that governments may have to allocate a larger portion of their budgets to healthcare. This creates an opportunity cost as the funds could’ve been used on other areas, such as education and improving infrastructure. Furthermore, having an ageing population insinuates a shrinking workforce, as there are fewer people producing goods and services, resulting in a reduced level of output, and ultimately slowing down a country’s economic growth.

On the other hand, older folks can play a more important role in society than many people realise. For instance, their accumulation of knowledge and experience can benefit younger individuals by providing advice and helping them make more informed decisions. Additionally, the elderly, particularly grandparents, can be of big help to working parents who may not have time to look after their children. Therefore, this will be where they step in to aid parents in caring for their children, thus reducing their burdens and allowing them to fully focus on their careers.

To summarise, although an ageing society may pose many financial and economic challenges, I strongly believe that the benefits outweigh the costs at the end of the day, since the elderly can provide valuable experiences and support to the younger generations. After thorough analysis of this subject, it is advisable for the government to focus more on devising strategies and creating suitable opportunities for them to remain active and be able to continue contributing to society for the foreseeable future.