Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is the main important factor that impacts society's safety, so reducing it is really crucial. A group of people think that this situation can be solved when the time in jail increases while others think that other methods are more efficient. In my personal view, the second perspective is the best idea when authorities enhance the level of criminals' and inhabitants' education and skills. On the one hand, when criminals spend too much time in prison, then they cannot commit crimes and this way prevents others from committing crimes. In other words, this method prevents violent individuals from going back to society and becoming a big threat to the population. In addition, the community who like to commit crimes can compare the benefits of their work and the time that they have to spend in jail and choose one of them. On the other hand, the fact that is really essential is that most crime is a result of a lack of job opportunities for the population. Therefore, if people from all walks of life have access to free education, the number of populations who can work in various industries will climb. Moreover, most people have income and they do not follow some work that has a negative impact on their society. Additionally, criminals, who are in prison learn various skills and science, and become workforces when they come back from these places. These communities can affect the growth of the economy. To sum up, in my opinion, raising the time spent in jail for crimes is the best way to keep violent populations and ban some of them to not committing crimes. However, education is the best item that has an economic impact and trains workers for countries.