Scientists agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work. Discuss both ideas and give your opinion.

With an ever-increasing concern about the damaged health by consuming too much junk food, a proportion of the population has opined that education will play a crucial role for this issue. The rest of the population, however, has raised a counterargument that implementing education will not actually work. This essay will evaluate both arguments and give a concluding viewpoint. On the one hand, advocates of the power of education argue that it is helpful in dealing with the harmful effects of overconsumption of junk food. Given that many young children tend to consume junk food due to the lack of information of how negatively junk food will affect their health, providing education of this topic will therefore help them to comprehend the result of overconsumption of junk food and actually eat less of it. Secondly, implementing education for adults will provide a wide range of knowledge which contains not only the relation between damaging health and eating too much junk food, but also alternative food which has healthy ingredients and can be served at an affordable cost. On the other hand, opponents of this idea contend that education will not be actually effective for the general public in discouraging their consumption of junk food. The primary reason is that most meals for students are likely to be served outside educational institutions and therefore they will be less controlled to have a healthy and balanced diet, which will eventually lead to failure in stopping them from overconsuming instant food. Considering the instant benefits of having fast food, education will not be helpful in encouraging adults to change their overconsumption of fast food to having a balanced and healthy diet, which is less affordable and more time-consuming. In conclusion, it seems that education can be effective in encouraging the public to eat less junk food. Nevertheless, I believe that other measures should be implemented for long-term change.