The idea of going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree this statement ?

In today's society, the concept of going abroad to pursue higher education is becoming more prevalent among youngsters. However, some people believe that staying home is perhaps more suitable for young people due to the harsh conditions and obstacles they may experience when living or studying in another country. I partly agree with this statement since I believe that studying overseas brings about both pros and cons and it depends on each individual to opt for which way. On the one hand, a foreign environment can be a turning point for those who want to pursue a triumphant career. First and foremost, people are able to get access to higher-quality education and precious opportunities. To explain, learning overseas means that we can meet the most talented individuals, work with various lecturers from different backgrounds, using the most innovative infrastructures, which all make a great contribution to our personal growth and career promotion. This helps us gain beneficial knowledge applied to reality so as to find a well-paid job after graduation. Moreover, independence and responsibility are other merits of overseas education. For instance, evidently, to fit in with an unfamiliar environment, people have to learn a lot to get used to new rules and regulations as well as make friends. Therefore, the young can boost their sense of discipline and absorb numerous useful soft skills, which are necessary for each citizen in this globalisation era. On the other hand, the choice of abroad is not always effortless. To begin with, those who select this path may suffer from cultural shock and isolation. To give an example, it takes quite a lot of time for people to be accustomed to social norms and circles of relationships in different places. They, hence, may feel isolated and disconnected from other factors in life and eventually fall prey to mental disorders. Furthermore, the financial burden is what prevents most overseas students from enjoying their abroad lives. For example, if they do not come from a rich or a least middle-class family, school tuition fees and living expenses can put more pressure on their families. Accordingly, they may be under constant strain to work overtime and distracted from their initial studying purposes. This can result in illegal working or even escaping. In conclusion, despite its detrimental impact, overseas studying possesses a number of merits for young individuals. It is recommended that they go through their personal backgrounds, financial situations and life goals to decide on an appropriate path to achieve success.