Many ottenders commit more crimes atter serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals who serve their first prison sentence, leave prison only to re-offend. This is mainly because of the lack of rehabilitation and difficulty finding regular employment once released. Several solutions should be implemented to deal with criminals who re-offend. Firstly, the reason most first-time offenders commit crimes again once they have been released from prison is due to the lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison. In other words, offenders are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills for their future or develop a deeper understanding of correct moral behaviour and instead integrate with other criminals, which only strengthens their criminal intentions. Secondly, repeat offending is also owing to the difficulty in finding employment after being released. As a result, many of them struggle financially, which leads them back to crime, regardless of the consequences. There are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all criminals entering prison are provided with the opportunity to obtain practical skills which will hopefully enable them to find a job after release from prison. By doing this, they would reintegrate into society and get some means of money to support themselves financially. Another method of dealing with criminals who re-offend is to have more supervision and inspections in place when they are back in the community. This solution would certainly prevent them from taking any chances and deter them from re-offending. In conclusion, having training in prison as well as close observation when first-time offenders are released is effective in dealing with the issue. The government might achieve a drop in crime figures if implements these solutions.