Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

In the current era, some individuals firmly believe that high school students must participate in voluntary community service. I totally agree with this opinion. It seems that this kind of voluntary job exerts a positive effect on teenager’s character. In addition, they can earn work experience through this involvement. It is undeniable that making a responsible character is one of the most challenging issues in the modern world. In this regard, the educational system should not only focus on the pursuit of knowledge but also the development of good personality such as being patient, caring, and responsible. It should be noted that students might learn these skills in the classroom but would not have the chance to apply or practice them. However, interaction with people in community service allows them to build up those morals. It brings that knowledge of morality into experience in their life. for instance, helping orphans makes a contribution to earning social skills. Moreover, it is very competitive in applying to universities or jobs. Universities prefer influential students to adopt. For example, MIT University receives more than thousands of new applications each year. Most applicants obtained all A’s results, so it is not easy to select the new intake students. At that time, their contribution to the community would make them distinguished among the applicants. To sum up, without a shadow of a doubt, involvement in unpaid community service brings great benefits to shape the morality of teenagers and boost their chances of getting into tertiary education. So I totally agree with the idea that unpaid work should be included in school programs.