In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Exploring the history of the house we live in is becoming a new trend now. It was started by the consumption of public media and spread by social media. Moreover, the technology development makes it possible for people to research this topic. People started to become curious about the story behind their houses after they finished watching a movie or reading a book that centres around the main character's houses. For example, in a horror movie like The Insidious, the history of the house becomes the crucial plot of the whole story. Consequently, this sparks a curiosity in the reader's or viewer's mind. Thus, people started doing research on the history of their own houses. Afterwards, they share their findings by making videos or content and uploading those to social media such as TikTok, Instagram, and Twitter which will inspire other people to follow the trend. With the advancement of technology, information now can be accessed easily from anywhere. An investigation of someone's history can be obtained using databases, archives and any other sources available online. Additionally, swift communication technology also helps people who are gathering data by connecting them with their family who live far from them. Therefore, the ease of access to information and communication makes it possible to uncover the facts of one's home without extensive travel and money. In conclusion, this trend was started by a few people who were inspired by a book they read or a movie they watched. This trend spread by them using social media which led to this trend becoming viral. The amount of information that can be gathered online and effortless communication has helped people who join this trend.