Films and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have negative effect on society and should be banned. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, violent video games and films are extremely demanding among all age groups. while some people believe that these are detrimental to societies, others assume they are harmless and relaxing. Both views will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, some families are worried about the harmful effects of violence shown in movies and games on people. They believe that people are more prone to act cruelly in real life by watching brutal scenes frequently. Therefore, these films should not be available to be seen worldwide. Exciting music and visual effects are usually added to violent acts making them more addictive and as a result, people will be more likely to watch or play similar films and games next time and will get used to them. I agree with this view since research has shown that the crime rate is much higher in societies in which people have unlimited access to brutal scenarios. On the other hand, some others do not consider violent pictures harmful. This group state that virtual goings-on has not any impact on the individual’s real life and that playing such games is relaxing. They think adults watch these movies to be distracted from everyday life’s stresses and get the energy to back to work. Personally speaking, I disagree with their opinion because I am sure people will be impressed by violent scenes unconsciously. To conclude, although one view is that watching bloody movies is an amusement, I believe it might have deteriorating effects on community health and it should be banned.