Modern Technology, such as personal computers and the internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation.

Modern technology has enabled most employees to work in a hybrid working model where they can either work from home or the office during certain days of the month. This is in stark difference to the previous practice of going to the office every day. Whilst the advantages include saving travel time and ability to work remotely for brief periods, it can be speculated that there are difficulties in driving the company culture and tracking the productivity of employees. Most employees assert that they are able to save a substantial amount of time in commuting when they work from home. On average, a person spends at least one to two hours in commuting to work. This time is saved on the days that they do not go to their workplace. In addition, individuals have the option of working remotely for a short duration such as two weeks. People can now take this into consideration when planning trips abroad. For example, travel addicts can opt to work remotely during their vacation and thus reduce the number of days they are away from work. In contrast, a primary disadvantage of the hybrid model is the perceived dip in productivity. Some companies are struggling to keep a tab on their workforce's productivity and have introduced several applications that monitor an employee's hours in front of their laptop. Yet another downside of this method is the inability to drive the company culture. For instance, multinational companies that pride in their company values were hitherto able to promote their culture and values by means of team activities and several conferences and events. However, with limited interaction, it has become a challenge to instil the values, especially in the new joiners who have no prior exposure to the corporate world. In conclusion, the widely adopted mixed model of working has several advantages and disadvantages. I believe that in order to provide a flexible work environment, that can drastically improve an individual's loyalty and inclination towards their company, most employers should embrace this new practice of alternating between working from home and the office.