Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age and should spend most of their time on school studies. Others believe that young children should spend most of their time playing. Compare these two views. Which view do you agree with? Why?

There is a contentious debate about whether children ought to spend an enormous amount of time playing or studying academics which requires them to join schools as early as possible. Although commencing study at an early age reaps the benefit of building a strong base in studies, I concur that children should spend most of their time playing for their holistic development. Primarily, aspirants of starting formal education at an early age tend to believe that it strengthens the foundation of a child's academics. To justify, when children commence to learning the course content at an early age, they may get used to comprehend information easily and train their brains to retain this information. This may lead to not only develop the capability in child to compete in academics but also be succeeded in future. For example, most of Indian children have more knowledge regarding their studies just because they start to learn at the age of 3. In contrast, if children get indulge in spending their valuable time in the play, it will distract them from their studies which may lead to lower their grades in academics. However, I think, playing is immensely important for the overall development of a child. While playing, children learn some essential life lessons such as sharing through mutual play, socialising by making friends and being diligent. These skills are more important than being a studious person, leading to some mental health issues like stress and depression. If children grow mentally and physically well in the initial stages of their lives, they will be able to tackle all the hardships in the future. Thus, I am convinced that children should spend most of their time playing instead of just focusing on their studies. In conclusion, in spite of forming a storng base of children in academics by the early initiation of formal education, I personally believe that children should spend a magnanimous amount of their time playing to get holistic development.