School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, more schoolchildren are using computers for long periods of time. This use is having a negative impact on the acquisition of reading and writing skills. In my opinion, screens have been overused and the purchase of literature habits are endangered due to computers. Nowadays, it is well known that most of the reading and writing activities that children do during the day, may have a negative effect on their development. For example, if they get used to writing by computer, they will not be able to write on paper in future. Furthermore, when children read online books, these do not have the same letters, because they are written in print. This situation results in difficulties when they start learning how to write correctly. In addition, their hands have to be previously adapted to this activity. Writing demands many physical structures, such as strength, motor control, coordination, or manipulative skills that they are not going to achieve if they are learning via computer. Furthermore, reading and writing skills build parts of our hobbies, and these may be at risk due to the increase of other methodologies. For instance, there are many famous writers that discovered their passion in their early years, and thanks to this, they decided to become a writer. Many people have as a hobby read books or write in a diary. If children are not encouraged to read books or to write their own histories, they will never have this possibility in the future, resulting in an increase in electronic hobbies, such as computer games and consoles. To conclude, I believe that schools should ban the use of computers in the classrooms to solve this issue. The negative impact on their development and the difficulties produced in their learning process is enormous, as well as, the loss of the possibility to find a hobby related to literature if they are not encouraged again to the traditional methods.