Most people prefer shopping in supermarkets nowadays. How does this affect the local shops? What are the positive and negative impacts of this development?

In this sophisticated era, many people are resorting to buying their needs in supermarkets. This phenomenon could give a drawback to the local shops, and there is a merit and demerit of this enhancement. Because of the increase in people shopping in supermarkets, the local shops are in danger of being bankrupt. The first thing to consider about this development is that the local shops will lose their buyers since most of their buyers prefer to spend their money on modern modern markets. A case in point is a traditional market where many people used to visit the traditional markets to fulfil their needs. However, since the occurrence of supermarkets, many of the traditional markets will have to be closed down because rarely do people visit them anymore. Since many people have a tendency to purchase their items in a big store, there is a positive and negative impacts of this situation that could be happened. A notable advantage is that In terms of advantages, people can find a variety of items that they need in supermarkets. For example, when people aspire to buy soap, they can find a variety of soap brands of it in supermarkets. Moving to the unfavourable impact, the trend of shopping in a big market could enable people to be more extravagant. This is because the products that are sold in supermarkets are usually more expensive than in local shops, and because of the fear of missing out, people wittingly or unwittingly would spend their money to purchase an expensive item. In conclusion, the development of a trend of buying something in supermarkets could cause bankruptcy for the local shops. Furthermore, although this trend may give a positive effect such as the variety of products sold, it also provides an unwanted effect such as people will be more extravagant.