Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is it a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over importing a great deal of food from other countries in the world. From my point of view, although this statement has both pros and cons, its advantages outweigh its counterpart. Without a shadow of a doubt, importing a great volume of food from other nations acts as a barrier in the development of any country. On the grounds that a wealth of traditional products do not have strong footholds anymore. For example, Trung Nguyen, which is one of the conventional coffee firms in Vietnam, is replaced by Starbucks which is a reputed USA café. Hence, that leads to the fact that Trung Nguyen coffee is no longer available in the market. Thus, importing a large amount of food brings some harmful impacts on the nations’ growth. While the drawbacks of importing a great deal of food from other parts of the world are widely acknowledged, its redeeming features still linger. Given the fact that importing food from other countries around the world diversifies the classifications of food, which helps people to have more choices in eating. For instance, the US imports rice from Vietnam to live up to the demand of Asia visitors. Moreover, it also helps the Americans to eat a wide range of high quality rice. As a result, importing a large amount of food does wonders for people around the world. In conclusion, even though importing a great deal of food from other nations brings some negative impacts, it still serves as a precursor for people to have more choices while choosing commodities.