Many countries import large amounts of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial statement heating up a debate over whether importing large amounts of food from other parts of the world is favorable or unfavorable. In my opinion, while this phenomenon has several disadvantages, they still can not outweigh its advantages. Without a shadow of a doubt, buying various agricultural products from other countries can bring numerous benefits for the domestic consumers. One of those merits is to vary the kind of food in countries. To be particular, in some countries, people can not grow some kind of food, so they can import those from other nations in the world. For example, in Vietnam, a warm country, we are unable to grow cherry trees, therefore we choose to buy cherry from America. You can see many kinds of cherry from the United States in Winmart, one the largest retail grocery chain in Vietnam. Hence, I believe that bringing in diverse foodstuffs can create some redeeming features for national residents. While the importance of importing agricultural products is widely acknowledged, its downside still lingers. To be specific, imported foods can compete extremely well with national agricultural products. In other words, it can deprive the market of local productions, because domestic people are likely to choose international food because of its exotics. For example, the number of Aeon mall’s branches, the huge retail foreign grocery chain from Japan in Vietnam that sells foreign foodstuffs, is increasing overwhelmingly, and it makes many local groceries lose their market on the ground that Vietnamese people prefer Japanese foodstuffs to Vietnamese ones. Thus, buying foreign food can also have some negative impacts. In conclusion, this trend can bring both pros and cons for development. However, I believe that its advantages can not be overshadowed by the counterpart