Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting thier usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

The recent advancements in pharmaceutical technology and the increase in the number of pharmaceutical factories have led to increased production of medicines and the opening of many retail shops. As a result, it is becoming common that when people see health problems, they buy and take medicines, on their own, without consulting their doctors. Here in this essay, I will explain how and when this can be beneficial and harmful. The proportion of doctors to patients in many hospitals is very low. Usually, patients have to make an appointment at least three days before they see a doctor unless it is an emergency. Minor health problems such as flu and headaches have very clear symptoms and often their respective medicines can be easily found in commercial pharmacies. Hence, there is no need reason to wait days before you see a doctor to receive the same medicine, so, buying medicines on your own can be reasonable on such occasions. Nevertheless, this doesn’t necessarily mean that people should find alternative medicines on their own for every health condition. Some serious health issues with severe symptoms need a rigorous diagnosis and taking medicine bought from commercial pharmacies can be counterproductive as it can worsen the case. Therefore, on such occasions, patients must see a doctor before they take any medicine. To sum up, I believe treating oneself with alternative medicines that aren’t ordered by a doctor can be both positive and negative, depending on the type and severity of the health problem. People might not need to wait days before they see a doctor for a simple and easily treatable disease, whilst, at the same time, they must visit a doctor when they have either an unknown disease or health issues with severe symptoms.