The issue of gay marriage remains controversial. Some people think that this trend has adverse effects on the society while others believe that it is seen as a natural trend and right for people to choose this type of marriage. Should gay marriage be legal? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate around marriage of the same sex has been heated for a long time. Although many countries like the U.K. and Canada legalised gay marriage a few years ago, there are still many detractors claiming that this could be detrimental to our society. Despite their concerns, I am a strong supporter of marriage equality for all genders and the reasons will be explicated below. One common argument against homosexual marriage is based on the grounds of reproduction to continue the human race. As gay couples cannot conceive children naturally with their partner, some may think that this could further decrease the falling birth rate in many countries. Eventually, this may result in challenges for humans to produce enough children to ensure our species' survival. However, this reason against the legal union of two people from the same gender is no longer valid, given today's medical procedures available. Couples, regardless of their sex, can opt for IVF pregnancy with the support of sperm banks, surrogacy and more. Gay couples can have as many children as they want with the aid of medical technology. Therefore, the rising number of homosexual relationships and marriages will pose no threat to the continuation of our human race. Another problem of legitimising gay marriage could be the potential religious tension this may incur. Some religious texts like the Holy Bible can be interpreted as disapproving of romance within the same sex. Giving gay couples the right to marry may invite protests from certain religious communities with such interpretations. Conversely, I would like to argue that since every individual is entitled to their freedom of religion, one's own faith should not interfere with that of others. Those who do not support gay marriage have the liberty to not marry someone from the opposite sex, but they do not have the right to deprive others of happiness with their same- sex partner. In conclusion, the negative implications of gay marriage are often perceived without much concrete evidence. After all, love is love and it is a basic human right for every one of us to marry whomever we wish to.