In many countries, people increasingly talk about money such as how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this sophisticated era, the importance of money in people ’s life has increased; as a result, in many nations, people usually talk about money when they have a conversation with their counterparts. This essay will discuss the reason why this phenomenon happens, and I strongly believe that this is a negative enhancement. To begin, it is undoubted that most individuals talk about money because they want to show up to their counterparts about their wealth. Since people have a tendency to get acknowledgement from others, they aspire for being acknowledged; hence, they will talk about their belongings. For instance, having communicating, men are usually discussing their expensive possessions such as cars, watches or houses because they believe that if they can show up their friends will be amazed. Hence, they will have a strong position in society. However, based on my viewpoint, discussing money when having a meeting with friends is a negative phenomenon. This is because when folk just talk about money there will be a predisposition for them for being envious. A case in point is that when having a conversation, people will share with each other their spending. Thus, wittingly or unwittingly people may feel envy if they know that others have more money than them. Another drawback is that a social gap may occur among the citizens. Since folk just share about money, those who come from underprivileged families will hesitate if they want to join a conversation with folk from affluent families. Based on these statements, it can be concluded that individuals tend to talk about their money especially for spending because they just want to show up about their possession. Therefore, this situation may lead to envy and social gaps among societies. Given this situation, it is paramount to not talk about money when meeting with others people.