Many people around the world use social media everyday to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantanges outweigh the disadvamtages?

In the present climate, social media has gained popularity among individuals. Although online media can bring about some merits, I believe that the potential drawbacks such as physical and mental ailments overshadow the benefits. One of the main setbacks of social media can be seen in the physical issues. It means that prolonged exposure to the screen can lead to some diseases such as eye strain, and obesity. For instance, the result of conducted research illustrates that the ratio of overweight teenagers in advanced societies is higher than in under-developed ones which can be owed to overreliance on the virtual world associated with sedentary lifestyles and accordingly gaining weight. If not controlled, this issue can lead to a disaster. Another potential downside of the mentioned trend can be its tremendous impact on one's mental health. dependency on the online world is highly likely to prone the consumers to various psychological challenges ranging from insomnia to depression. The rate of suicide among students in developed societies can be taken as an example. Surveys elaborate that this issue stems from the growing rate of depression and isolation linked to eliminated physical interactions and enhanced virtual ones. On the other hand, there are some virtues to online media. The main merit is that it can accelerate task-accomplishment and they are more updated. Nowadays, people can use online media for various tasks; online banking, and easier communications to name but a few. Moreover, the data is updated more regularly so users can investigate the latest news via these media. For instance, they can follow the Olympic games and their news more effectively compared to traditional news resources. Thus, it is much faster. In conclusion, there exist some merits linked to social media such as time-saving and accessibility, however, the handicaps outshine these privileges.