Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age. This is called "peer pressure". Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Today's youth has this habit that when they spent more time with the same age group they end up getting influenced by them. This essay will explain how the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Nowadays, youngsters have a habit of using expensive things such as bikes, cell phones, cars and clothes. While meeting each other in college, party or any other social gathering they show off very much and their peers get influenced by their behaviours. Hence they start demanding the same things in front of their parents or partners. For instance, two types of people studying in the same college, but the financial condition of both students is different in that situation if the person with poor financial conditions starts demanding such highly expensive things. It is not necessary that both kinds of families afford the same things. However, Parents can make their children understand their situation so that they work hard and try to earn those goods on their own. One of the advantages is that many a time some of our mates behave in a very positive manner and we get highly influenced by that behaviour and try to take things optimistically. For example, one of the students got very good bands in IELTS, started the preparation for higher education in his preferred country and earned a very good amount of scholarship. He didn't give up on his dreams, and this influenced many of his peers and they also started taking their careers seriously. If one person starts thinking in a positive direction then he can influence many others. To conclude, one should always think about the future and then take a decision on getting influenced by others. Every person behaves differently in every situation.