Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with?

In recent times, there have been many languages disappearing as a result of globalisation. I contend that having fewer languages in the world benefits people contrary to popular belief in relation to effective communication and broadening human connections internationally. To begin, the more speak the same language, the more effective communication occurs. It is often challenging for many people to master a new language, as they are required to devote their time, concentration, and effort for a prolonged period of time. Although some would be capable of articulating their thoughts with ease, it is still not as near as communicating in their native languages. To illustrate this, it is not uncommon for those who studied in an English-speaking country for more than 5 years to still find it difficult to talk with native speakers. Thus, speaking exactly the same language will substantially promote the efficiency of communication. Another imperative aspect of having fewer languages would be that people could connect to others more easily regardless of their nations. As it stands, it is common for people to speak a different language in a foreign country as a means of communication. However, if some close nations started to adopt the same language, they would get to know people, lifestyles and cultures far more efficiently than ever. Additionally, speaking the same language often leads people to establish close relationships due to smooth communication and a sense of belonging. To conclude, I firmly believe that fewer languages in the world will bring numerous benefits to us, as it spurs effective communication amongst people as well as connections that are currently hindered by language.