Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages? It is believed by some people that the government should protect and preserve old buildings than others. Personally, I think that there are specific kinds of traditional buildings that need to be maintained and I reckon that the benefits of conserving these structures are more significant than its drawbacks as the following. Firstly, some types of structures that should be maintained, including buildings that hold a significant amount of value such as historical museums, religious temples and old churches. This is because these buildings act as a symbol of a city or a nation. So that if they are not well-preserved, they could run down and eventually collapse, which may cause a nation to lose their cultural identity. In addition, conserving these traditional structures could also bring economic development due to they can attract tourism from all over the world. However, there are some detrimental effects that protecting these old buildings could bring, one of them is that they could cost a large amount of funding. For example, these buildings are too old compared to others, so it is really hard to find the materials to conserve them. Nevertheless, the profit from tourism could be used to cover its drawback, therefore, I believe that the issue of maintaining fees is just a minor inconvenience. In summary, I think there are definitely buildings that should be preserved, and I believe that the importance of preserving culture and history through the preservation of certain old buildings is far more important than the disadvantages.