In some countries many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Learning is consecutive progress in human life, as humans always need to absorb new information in their life. That being said, there is a growing trend in some countries, in which a lot of high school alumni choose to take a gap year to work or to travel before pursuing higher education. The following essay will discuss the merits and demerits of this trend. To begin with, there are benefits of landing a part-time job or travelling before entering university, such as attaining new skills and relaxation. Taking time to travel after graduating from high school helps youngsters to recharge their mental and physical health. For example, during the gap year, could travel around the country to sightsee a great number of famous landscapes. While taking vacations at these destinations, they have an abundant amount of time to exercise to get in shape and stay away from concerns and negative thoughts, which will help to ease their minds. Moreover, a gap year provides several chances to help young adults to equip themselves with new skills, which are likely not being taught in schools. For instance, when an alumnus lands a part-time job, they can enhance their communication skill and problem-solving skill after encountering countless customers. This will also help them to expand their social network, as youngsters have the chance to meet with people from different classes. On the other hand, there also exist several detrimental effects to taking a prep year. In some Asia countries, students have to pass an entrance exam before being accepted to colleges and universities. However, the questions in this exam are heavily dependent on the knowledge learnt in high school, so there is a latent risk that this information will be faded after taking a year off, thus lowering the chance of attending college. Last but not least, this could also demotivate pupils from pursuing higher education. This is because young adults may be used to the relaxation they get during the prep year, which makes the desire to learn in them weaker than those who go to university right after finishing high school. In conclusion, there are positive effects of taking a break before entering university, such as accumulating new skills and relaxation. Nevertheless, there also are negative effects, namely the lack of desire to continue educational programs.