Some people believe that zoos have no place in the modern society, while others claim zoos are good places which are often used for beneficial purposes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals claim that zoos are not needed in the contemporary world, whereas an opposing group of people believe that zoos can be advantageous and must be used. This essay will firstly discuss the drawbacks of zoos that can ruin their reputation. Secondly, this piece of work will discuss how zoos could be used in positive ways. Many zoos around the world have been criticized for the way they treat wild animals. Most experts claim that zoos are keeping the animals in captivity, which means they cannot enjoy the freedom and being in their natural habitats. For instance, lions always live in savannahs, but some Northern Countries can have them in cages. In addition to keeping animals in restricted areas, one more negative point that must be mentioned here is the cruelty, that the visitors of zoos show towards animals. On the other hand, numerous individuals believe zoos do have a place in the modern world, since they can be used in beneficial ways. Firstly, zoos can be used as a venue for saving endangered species. This is particularly essential knowing that not all the rare animals are able to survive on their own, as poaching has made it difficult for them to survive. Secondly, zoos are also the places where people can get closer to animals and know more about them, which means zoos could be understood to have an educational value. In conclusion, in my view, zoos are needed, but rules and regulations must be strict. For example, wild animals should not be kept in cages in the countries where the climate is not suitable for them. Also, even if they are in captivity, the areas which they are given must be somehow similar to their natural habitats.