Some people say that television should be mainly used to educate and inform viewers, while others believe it should be used for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The purpose of television has been discussed since the 21st century. Some individuals think that it needs to be used to educate audiences, and spread well-informed news to them. However, others believe that it should be used for recreation. In my view, I am more convinced with the latter topic. Firstly, televisions are popular electronics that are placed in the living room, so users who want to use them need to stay at home, especially when individuals enter their apartments after finishing schooling or work. Moreover, a majority of ordinary people definitely fail to learn more even though some meaningful content that they are interested in because they feel exhausted when going home. For example, a scientific report from the Singapore society newspaper revealed that approximately 80% of citizens relieve themselves by enjoying TV shows after dinner, and at the same time most of them stated that TV's main function should be entertainment; hence, it is not uncommon that TV plays an entertaining role in a competitive society. In addition, there are various methods that can be used to finish educational goals, and these ways are more efficient than TV. For instance, the use of the Internet has been becoming the most effective learning tool in modern society, as a result, the public could quickly get targeted information compared with TV; therefore an increasing number of individuals would not like to learn by using TV, and the phenomenon implies that TV's mainly used to entertainment instead of education. In conclusion, although television can be used to educate, and inform individuals, it has the main function that entertaining people. This is because there are advanced tools that are used to satisfy educational desires compared with TV. Furthermore, users usually use TV when they feel tired after finishing a whole day of challenging tasks. Obviously, they do not have more energy to learn anything. Consequently, television mainly is used for recreation.