Some people feel that cities should allow for spaces for graffiti while others feel it should be banned. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It has always been a controversy whether the government should forbid graffiti or give a dedicated space for graffiti instead. The creation of graffiti is an example of the younger generations’ creativity, although it is often considered a destructive action towards properties. However, I strongly believe that graffiti should be allowed but it must be strictly regulated by the government, to prevent any harm to society. Graffiti is a form of art, mostly created by adolescents on streets or perhaps private property. In my opinion, although it may sound very disastrous, it is actually a form of their imagination and creativity. If the government presents a space for those street artists, they can freely vent their ideas yet also express themselves in that particular space without doing any harm. In addition to that, the walls of graffiti may also become a tourist destination like an art space, for instance, as it shows the uniqueness of local artists. On the other hand, there are tons of complaints regarding this issue. Many of those graffiti artists trespass private property and paint their creation there while it is actually against the law. Personally speaking, In regard to that matter, the government should apply stricter rules so such problem will not continuously happen over time. Moreover, it is rarely seen that someone is held responsible for graffiti street art, so if one’s property is damaged, no one but the owner will end up fixing the damages. To conclude, the authorities should dedicate a special place for graffiti artists and also follow that measure with applying stricter rules and regulations. In that way, those artists will comply with the law and restrict them from creating any further destruction to the city.