A rise in the standard of living in a country only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference cause? How might these problems be reduced?

Recent years have witnessed the staggering development of the mushrooming number of cities and rural areas. But ironically, the disparity between the metropolises and outskirt areas is still conspicuous. Generally speaking, the impacts are multidimensional, and we are obliged to take some steps to alleviate such a dilemma. It is undeniable that the difference in living standards between megacities and the countryside will bring us some lurking threats. To begin with, the huge gulf between the affluent and the impoverished will sometimes make people from rural places be confronted with social ostracism. A typical example is that at the workplace, people from small villages are usually exposed to unfair treatment or even expelled by city dwellers. Under such circumstances, they would be underrated, underappreciated and underprivileged by society, which can lead them to take revenge on society to express their resentment and dissatisfaction. Moreover, this trend will aggravate the burden on those metropolises. In order to enjoy a higher living standard, a soaring number of people swarm to big cities, which will make those cities overwhelmed in various aspects, such as the environment, transportation, housing, etc. This will therefore lead to many severe issues like air pollution, traffic congestion, and unaffordable housing price. Although this issue is extremely complex, some feasible approaches can be proposed promptly to tackle those problems. The government has the ability as well as the responsibility to relocate factories and companies in the countryside to create jobs for local residents. Meanwhile, the government can provide initial funds for rural citizens to start their own businesses, which can both solve the problem and promote economic development in rural areas. In addition, the government should impose some laws and regulations to provide people in remote places with some subsidies, such as being exempted from heavy taxes, which can make them enjoy the perk of living in rural areas, thereby reducing the burden on big cities. In conclusion, since the improvement of living standards merely contributes to the development of megacities, it will exert negative repercussions. Effective solutions need to be adopted and the government needs to shoulder the responsibility as soon as possible.