Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and given your own opinion.

It is thought by some that children should be motivated to compete with each other, whilst others argue that those who are educated about cooperation become more beneficial citizens. Although, competition helps youngsters excel in learning, I am of the opinion that cooperation is a more rewarding trait instead of competition and should be inculcated in every child. Those who state that children should develop habit of competition base their opinion on this analysis that by competing, boys and girls strive to learn more. That is to say that a good student, who generally gets first position in a class, will always try to maintain his position and will work harder so as to compete with his other fellow competitors. In this way, he will exert extra effort at home so that he is not beaten in the competition. For example, many parents in developing countries want their children to compete with others and get more marks so that their boy or girl gets admission to medical college where the margin of passing or failing is a fraction of a per cent. However, I believe that this trait of learning can be achieved more successfully if we teach our children to help each other. Even though there is a majority of those who favour this approach that children should be taught to compete to learn and become successful, I agree with others who advocate cooperation because this imbues a sense of sharing and teamwork in teenagers. This means that when students help each other in their homework or assignments, all of them not only get knowledge but also develop the capabilities of assisting and contributing, which help them when they enter practical life. For instance, in Switzerland, many schools require their students to do group assignments, which practice has resulted in those students also helping their friends when they enter practical life. In conclusion, while the sense of competition is an important tool for learning, I believe that those children who are required to help each other, not only learn well but also become more productive youngsters.