Scientific research should be primarily funded by governments instead of commercial companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research plays an important role in the development of science which made it an interest of many institutions including the commercial ones as well as the government. Some people claim that the latter should primarily fund these projects instead of private companies. However, I disagree with this idea and the essay will further elaborate on why funds should be collected from both sides. Firstly, scientific explorations require sponsorship by a large budget, because most projects need special equipment and resources in order to obtain significant achievements. In other words, limiting research to authorities only lowers the probability of achieving considerable results, which means that both the private and public sectors should equally contribute to the overall money invested in science and technology. In the USA for example, there is a variety of institutions collaborating in order to create and discover new technologies that might serve humanity, making this country one of the leaders in development. Secondly, commercial companies are able to provide the scientific field with much more than just money, by putting expertise and energy into action as they can focus solely on new strategies that the authorities might not be able to provide time for. A perfect example to illustrate this would be the covid pandemic when the private and the public sectors collaborated together to come up with a solution to stop the virus from spreading. Thus, the government must accept help from private institutions. To summarize, I envision that the authorities and the commercial companies should collaborate to maximize the research outcome by investing money, expertise and time equally in this field because they will benefit from each other's help.