More and more people no longer read newspapers. They get news about the world through the Internet. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

It is true that in recent years, the internet has become the main source of announcements while the number of people reading newspapers has decreased dramatically. In several ways, individuals and society may benefit from this trend. However, I believe that this would bring about the absence of a traditional job and a lack of valuable news. On the one hand, the idea of reading news online can be beneficial to some extent. The first frequently cited reason relates to citizens’ convenience and comfort. Nowadays, due to the rapid development of technology, the Internet is improving day by day to meet the demands of most people. As a consequence, everyone can easily get access to a wide range of hot issues instead of waiting all day long for a newspaper like before. On the other hand, the drawbacks of this trend are significant, far outweighing the benefits. Firstly, considering the Internet as the core method to get statements can lead to the disappearance of a traditional job, namely newspaper delivery. To be more specific, as long before, it was regarded as one of the most special jobs, which demonstrates national identities. However, the preference for digital news has resulted in the loss of this meaningful activity since it cannot be seen in such metropolitan areas. The second negative aspect is quality. Despite the common sense of internet data, they sometimes may become unreliable due to the overload of tabloids with controversial headings with the aim of getting profit since the attention can be engrossed and there are more advertisements. For instance, in VietNam, Facebook has not only been the main source of relaxation but also serves as an “announcer” where all current affairs are found and taken into consideration, with several different viewpoints about an issue. In conclusion, I believe that reading online news instead of broadsheets may be a negative development. Despite the benefits related to convenience, it may bring about several drawbacks which affect our society.