Because so much information is available on the internet today, traditional secondary schools and teachers are no longer necessary. Do you agree with this statement?

It is important to consider if, these days, conventional schools and professors both are still essential for a student ´s life due to the availability of the internet. Although I consider that this latter plays a crucial role in our lives, I firmly believe that schools are still important to divert the student to the right path. Considering firstly the role of a teacher, that is crucial to guide the student to what matters for their studying. This is because the internet world is so wide, that the student himself would find it difficult to choose from all the information available online. A good illustration of this is when a student needs to learn about the First World War, and the information on the internet does not have an end, so he would need a teacher to serve as a moderator to choose what is important from what is superficial. Additionally, much information available on the web is not accurate, still requiring verification, and it is rather common for a student to find false websites, which could not be validated for his studies. On the other hand, another aspect to take into consideration is the role of the school and the classroom in a student ´s life. They are extremely important to help the student to develop the necessary social and soft skills to prepare them for a future job, which they would no longer achieve if they were at home on their own studying on the internet. Thereby, team-working, leadership, interrelationship and argumentative skills are some of the wide range of them that students may develop. This can be, for instance, aimed not only at social interactions during the break time but also through assignments or public presentations that professors require children to do during the classes. In conclusion, whereas access to the internet is essential, nowadays, as it represents an infinite source of information, which can complement traditional learning methods, I am a vehement supporter that professors are the main moderators between the material available online and what from them is true and important to learn, and the institution represents the best place to develop skills which will be needed for a future at work.