Cultures around the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In today's world, the cultural patterns of various nations are likely to be similar. The main explanations for this tendency are advances in travel and the growing popularity of social media. However, despite some positive aspects, it seems that this trend might lead minority nations to disappear and have unfavorable consequences on tourism. The reasons for the growing similarity among the world’s cultures are multiple; one of them is manageable and reasonable travel options. In other words, people can travel to foreign countries despite the long distances due to convenient and affordable travel alternatives. As a result, individuals would obtain a more comprehensive understanding of a wide variety of cultural aspects worldwide, as well as absorb and apply them to their countries, which makes cultures identical. Furthermore, the advent and excessive usage of social media lead people to be connected with people across the world, become aware of diverse cultural patterns, and alter their way of thinking and cultural habits. Even though resemblances in cultures are likely to have some favorable aspects, such as reducing discrimination, it would affect tourism and some minority nations adversely. First and foremost, having similar cultural patterns might cause some minor societies to disappear. To be more specific, it has been always hard for minor nations to preserve their history and culture, as people are more likely to absorb the cultures of large nations and be assimilated by individuals from developed countries. As a consequence, the cultures of small countries and nations appear to have been left behind. Another concern is the devastating impact on tourism and the economies of some countries. Take Malaysia and Indonesia, for instance, where the majority of people tend to travel due to their extraordinary nature and culture, which might not be as attractive as they are because of having similar cultures with other folks, which would decrease the revenue of tourism in these countries. In conclusion, growing similarities in cultures worldwide are due to suitable and less expensive travel possibilities. Nevertheless, this trend would lead to the disappearance of some nations and reduce the income from tourism in some parts of the world.