Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Daily exercises are recommended by a majority of health professionals as it directly helps in maintaining a healthy weight. Even though adults are encouraged to engage in exercises in a regular manner, many fail to follow a routine. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons behind their failure to adhere to an exercise schedule and the measures to encourage their engagement in the above-mentioned activities. Firstly, as age increases elderly population are more prone to multiple illnesses. For instance, if an obese adult with osteoarthritis is suggested to perform various high-intensity workouts, he will be reluctant to stick with that schedule for the long term because of the severe joint pains and limited mobility. So, exercise regimes must be tailored considering one’s age, sex, daily schedule and other comorbidities thus, making exercise time a pleasant experience for them resulting in better engagement. Secondly, the sedentary lifestyle and lack of knowledge about non-communicable diseases do not push people to be active. For instance, if adults are well-educated regarding how few lifestyle modifications can reduce their risks of obtaining cardiovascular diseases like angina and hypertension drastically, they will be more inclined to include those changes in their lives. So, if nutritionists and health practitioners can educate the community regarding the long-term benefits of exercises such as strengthening their vitals and reducing acquired diseases, the public will pay much attention towards including these practices in their day-to-day life. In conclusion, despite the doctor’s recommendation many adults fail to maintain a proper exercise regime due to their fragile nature and lack of knowledge about benefits. However, these can be changed by proper education and personalised workout plans.