In many countries, people increasingly talk about money such as how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Income and spending have become two hot discussion topics all around the world. Some people do it to share their personal experiences, while others may have the intention to brag. However, from my perspective, this is a constructive trend as it may be inspirational and educative to other individuals. Nowadays, a lot of people publicly tell both the amount of their salary and expenditure online. Due to advancements in technology and the existence of social media, sharing information has become very easy. Moreover, the internet has made everyone from all parts of the world become connected. People talk about those topics either to follow a trend they do not want to miss out on, or they may feel that their financial journey may motivate people around them. For instance, in recent times, many glamorous influencers create “how much I spend in a day” videos and I believe that those videos can be inspiring for the viewers. On the other hand, money talks can be beneficial to society by making more people exposed to an economic issues. In addition to that, people can share their financial stories as well as learn from others’ experiences so they will not do the same mistake. Thus, everyone can be financially literate yet also understand the game of money. For example, by joining an open discussion about finance, we can gain knowledge about personal finance or money management from a more experienced person. To conclude, personal finance discussion is advantageous to numerous people, as people can learn from each other’s stories. However, everyone should keep in mind that the main intention is sharing, not bragging.