Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic: News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. You should write at least 254 words.

It is the news reporters who take the decision about the content that will be shown on television as well as published in newspapers. Their decisions could be based on various factors such as their personal bias, the sensitivity of the data, impacts the report could have etc. In my opinion, all of us have become accustomed to negative information. Firstly, it helps in identifying issues which could eventually be fixed. Improvement can be done if the shortcomings are known. However, recently the only focus is on pointing out issues. Moreover, it is become a human tendency these days to criticise than appreciate something. This gives birth to a lot of negativity and fear amongst people. For example, during covid, all the news sources were just highlighting the issues that were being faced by people and death of young and healthy folks which resulted in panic. They could have also shown the story of a 105 years old couple who recovered from covid and were leading a healthy life. Secondly, more and more people come to know about problems as a result of which there is a large number of people who could think of different possible solutions. For instance, in Bangladesh, there was a lot of poverty and someone came up with an initiative which was empowering women. Women are very hardworking and have a lot of ethics. Hence, groups of ladies were given loans to start new businesses. The idea worked and the economy of that nation improved. A simple idea could change the future of a county. To conclude, bad news is helpful if we take it well and learn from it however, a ray of positivity could also be used to motivate the community.