Some people agree with spending lots of money on a large wedding , while others think it’s a waste of money. What is your opinion?

Nowadays wedding is more of a social status. It is often argued that shelling out a huge chunk of saving for a wedding is useless, while other groups of people are against this. I totally agree with the former and believe that extra money could be used in a better way. The meaning of a wedding has changed over the years, Earlier, the wedding was believed to be enmeshing of two souls and setting up a simple marriage, but now the community want to flex their money power by flushing out a huge pile of cash and showing their social status. For instance, some while ago, I went to the marriage of one of my friend's brothers. They had booked this huge banquet for the wedding with every possible content dish for dinner. Thus, I don't believe spending big is equivalent to high status among the known group of people. Instead of spending big in a marriage, the extra money which could be saved by restricting expenditure on unimportant things could be put to better use by giving to the newlywed couple. As a result, this could help them financially. Further, with this, money they could buy a house or open up a business in future. Recently, one of my cousin's parents set up a simple wedding and gave them some money as a wedding present. Eventually, this proved to be beneficial for them as they invested that money to open up a side business which turned out to be a huge success. To conclude, some communities believe spending heftily on a wedding is nothing but a waste of wealth, while others oppose this. But, I think people should give it a second thought before shedding out their life savings.